Facts checked 28 September 2026 ✓ Fact-checked Borrowing & Credit Add as a preferred source on Google

What Lenders Check Before Approving a Loan in Ghana (2026)

☆ Save
What Lenders Check Before Approving a Loan in Ghana (2026) — Rateweb

A lender is allowed to say no — but not for any reason it likes

Ghana's loan market runs on one blunt legal fact that most borrowers never see written down. Section 51 of the Borrowers and Lenders Act, 2020 (Act 1052) says anyone with the legal capacity to enter a contract may apply to a lender for credit — and then says, in the very next subsection, that a lender may refuse on "reasonable commercial grounds consistent with the customary risk management and underwriting practices of the lender". Section 51(3) closes the door explicitly: the Act does not create a right to force a lender to lend to you.

So there is no application you can assemble that guarantees a yes. What the law does control is the grounds. Section 52(1) forbids a lender from discriminating on the basis of gender, race, colour, ethnic origin, political opinion, religion, creed, or social or economic status — and forbids using any of those as the basis to assess your ability to meet the obligations, to refuse the application, or to price the credit differently. Section 53 requires lenders not to discriminate against a person with a disability and to provide accessible information at every stage of credit delivery. If you believe a decision was made on one of those grounds, section 52(2) gives you a route: complain to the Bank of Ghana for redress.

Everything else on the list below is fair game for a lender to weigh.

Every licensed lender must search your credit file — by law

This is the single most misunderstood part of borrowing in Ghana. Section 26(4) of the Credit Reporting Act, 2007 (Act 726) requires a financial institution to conduct a search of the applicant's credit record on the database of one or more licensed credit bureaus before it makes a decision to grant or refuse an application for credit or another facility.

Read that again: before it grants or refuses. The search is not optional, and it is not reserved for large loans. The Bank of Ghana's own Credit Reporting Activity Report for 2024 confirms the same duty in plain language and puts a number on it — 29,496,440 enquiries were made on credit bureau databases during 2024 by financial institutions and authorised users, for credit appraisals, loan recoveries and KYC. That was a 114.60% jump on the 13,745,137 searches recorded in 2023.

There are three bureaus licensed by the Bank of Ghana: XDS Data Ghana, Dun & Bradstreet Credit Bureau and MyCredit Score, the last of which was licensed in late 2024 and began collecting data that December. All regulated lenders — banks, rural and community banks, savings and loans companies, finance houses, microfinance and microcredit companies — are expected to both contribute data and use it. Our guide on how to check your credit score walks through pulling your own file before a lender pulls it for you.

One consequence worth internalising: because the search happens before a refusal as well as an approval, shopping your application around ten lenders in a week leaves ten footprints. Apply deliberately.

What is actually sitting in your file

Your bureau record is fed from several taps at once.

From your lenders, with your consent. Section 26(2) requires the financial institution to ask for your consent in the account opening form, the loan application form and the loan agreement. Section 26(8) says that once given, the consent runs until you revoke it. Section 24(3) then sets the reporting rhythm: the institution must submit your information within seventy-two hours of entering into a credit agreement or facility, and must report on the status of your performance every month thereafter. Across the industry that averaged 61,332,906 loan records submitted to bureaus monthly in 2024.

From your lenders, without your consent. Section 25 lets a financial institution report three categories no matter what you have signed: loans that are ninety days past the due date where the amount is not in dispute, where you have made no satisfactory repayment proposal after a formal demand, and where you were given at least twenty-eight days' notice of the intention to disclose; information on a person involved in financial malpractices; and information on a person involved in issuing dishonoured cheques for lack of funds or fraud. That last one is not theoretical — banks and specialised deposit-taking institutions submitted 45,136 dud cheque records in 2024, down 15.1% from 53,522 the year before.

From public sources. Section 28 lets bureaus compile from business registers, property and charge registries, police records of economic crimes, and court registries — including judgment debts, insolvency proceedings and winding-up orders.

From non-financial businesses. The Credit Reporting Regulations, 2020 (L.I. 2394) opened the system to Designated Data Providers. The count rose from 33 in 2023 to 35 in 2024, and the Bank of Ghana has been enrolling petroleum service providers so trade credit shows up too. If you have a supplier account somewhere, assume it may become visible.

How long it stays. Section 30(2) caps retention at a maximum of six years from the occurrence of the basis for keeping the information — and ten years in the case of a criminal conviction. A default does not follow you forever, but six years is long enough to matter.

Identity: the Ghana Card is the spine of the check

In 2024 the Bank of Ghana enforced the submission of Ghana Card information as part of the records lenders send to bureaus, specifically to stop the wrong merging of credit data — the failure mode where two people with similar names end up sharing one history, and one of them is refused for the other's default.

Practically, this means your Ghana Card is now the key that unlocks your own file. If the name, date of birth or card number a lender holds does not match what the bureau holds, the search can come back thin or, worse, matched to someone else. Before you apply anywhere, make sure the spelling of your name is identical across your Ghana Card, your bank account and your employer's payroll.

Affordability: what your income actually has to cover

A clean file gets you considered. Affordability gets you approved.

A lender works from your net pay, not your gross. Take a salaried worker on ₵4,500 a month. The employee SSNIT contribution of 5.5% comes off first — ₵247.50 — leaving ₵4,252.50 as the taxable figure. Run that through the 2026 monthly PAYE bands (the annual bands of 4,824 at 0%, then 1,320 at 5%, 1,560 at 10%, 36,000 at 17.5%, 196,740 at 25%, 359,556 at 30% and the balance above ₵600,000 at 35%, divided by twelve):

Monthly band Rate Tax
First ₵402 0% ₵0.00
Next ₵110 5% ₵5.50
Next ₵130 10% ₵13.00
Next ₵3,000 17.5% ₵525.00
Next ₵610.50 25% ₵152.63
Total PAYE ₵696.13

Net pay is ₵4,500 − ₵247.50 − ₵696.13 = ₵3,556.37. That, not ₵4,500, is the number the lender divides up. Our guides on how PAYE works in Ghana and SSNIT cover both deductions properly, and the income tax calculator will do the arithmetic for your own salary.

From that net figure the lender subtracts what you already owe — and it can see that, because every other lender is reporting monthly. Existing loan instalments, a mobile-money credit line, a salary advance, a hire purchase. What is left is the pool your new instalment must fit into.

There is no Bank of Ghana rule fixing the maximum share of your net pay that may go to debt. Each lender sets its own internal ceiling, and the ceilings differ sharply between a bank and a microcredit company. Ask the specific lender what ceiling it applies before you fill anything in — it is a reasonable question and the answer tells you immediately whether the amount you want is realistic. The affordability calculator and the personal loan calculator let you test an instalment before you commit to it.

Lenders are also cautious right now for a structural reason. The banking sector's non-performing loan ratio stood at 21.79% at the end of 2024, up from 20.58% a year earlier, even as gross credit to the private sector and public institutions grew by GH₵18.53 billion. More lending, more bad lending — which is exactly the environment in which underwriting tightens.

Security: collateral, guarantors, and the registry that records them

If the loan is secured, the lender will do a second search — this time at the Collateral Registry, established at the Bank of Ghana under Act 1052. The registry records security interests over movable and immovable property, and the public can search it to find out whether an asset already carries someone else's charge. Registration of a security interest costs GHS 20, a search costs GHS 10 and a late registration GHS 25.

Two things follow for a borrower. First, if you are offering an asset as security, expect the lender to check whether you have already pledged it elsewhere; a second charge on the same vehicle or building is a fast refusal. Second, registration cuts both ways — Act 1052 lets a lender realise a registered security interest without first going to court, subject to the Registry issuing a memorandum of no objection. That is a real power, and it is one reason to read the security clause rather than skim it. If land is the security, our guide on buying land safely in Ghana covers the title checks the lender will also be doing.

Guarantors are the other common form of comfort. Note that the Consumer Basic Trace Report sold by the bureaus includes guarantor details alongside address and telephone history — so standing as someone's guarantor is itself a visible fact.

The documents a lender will ask you for

There is no universal list, but across banks, savings and loans companies and microcredit lenders the same items recur:

  • Ghana Card, matching the name on everything else you submit.
  • Proof of address, often a utility bill plus your GhanaPostGPS digital address.
  • Proof of income — three to six months of payslips for an employee, or bank and mobile-money statements for a trader or freelancer.
  • Bank statements, read not just for the balance but for the pattern: how early in the month the account empties, how many returned debits appear.
  • Employer confirmation or an introductory letter for salaried lending, sometimes with an undertaking to route the salary through the lending bank.
  • Business documents for business credit — certificate of incorporation or business registration, TIN, and often filed returns. Our guide on registering a business in Ghana covers what the Office of the Registrar of Companies issues.
  • Collateral documents — indenture, land title, vehicle registration, invoices for equipment.

Digital lenders compress this list dramatically. A product like MTN Qwikloan or Fido underwrites largely from transaction behaviour rather than paperwork — which is convenient, and usually priced accordingly.

What you are entitled to see before you sign

Section 57 of Act 1052 is the borrower's strongest provision and the least used. A lender regulated by the Bank of Ghana shall not conclude a credit agreement unless it first gives you a pre-agreement disclosure statement in the form set out in the First Schedule. That form is headed, in the Act's own words, "This is neither a Contract nor a commitment to Lend" — it exists so you can compare offers before committing.

It must state the annual percentage rate (described in the schedule as the cost of your credit at a yearly rate), the finance charge, the amount financed, the total of payments, the payment schedule, any late charge, and whether a prepayment penalty applies. Section 57(3) separately requires the principal, the disbursement schedule, the interest rate, the total amount involved, the repayment schedule, the basis of any cost if you breach, any prepayment fees, and insurance for the loan.

Then comes the clause worth memorising: section 57(4) says any charge or fee not disclosed in that statement before the agreement is executed is not payable — and if already paid, must be refunded with interest at the prevailing rate. A lender that contravenes section 57 faces an administrative penalty of one thousand five hundred penalty units, and section 57(6) lets the borrower sue for damages.

Three more provisions of the same Act are worth knowing before you sign:

  • Section 55(2): a lender must impose an interest rate calculated on an annual basis only. A rate quoted per month with no annual equivalent is a red flag, and it is the mechanism behind most "cheap" loans that are not. Our guide to getting a personal loan in Ghana covers how quoted rates translate into what you actually repay.
  • Section 55(3): where the agreement provides a penal rate for a delayed repayment, that penal rate applies to the delayed amount only — not to the whole outstanding loan.
  • Section 59: you may settle the credit at any time, subject to the notice terms in the agreement, and the lender must accept a payment when it is made even if it is early, crediting it as of the date of receipt. A prepayment charge is only payable if it was agreed.

And after drawdown, section 58 entitles you to a statement of the loan — payments made, remaining balance, fees and interest — within five days of asking.

If you are refused, or your file is wrong

Start by finding out which it is, because the remedies differ.

If the problem is your credit record, section 37(1)(b) of Act 726 lets you walk into a credit bureau's office during normal business hours and inspect your file without charge once within a period of twelve months — plus again if a court orders it, and again within a reasonable period after you have challenged something, so you can verify it was corrected. Outside those occasions you pay a nominal fee. Section 37(2) gives you the right to challenge accuracy and to require the bureau to investigate, again without charge to you.

Section 38 sets out what happens next. You request a review and support it with evidence. If the error came from a data provider, the bureau must tell you to direct the claim to that provider. The bureau or provider must seek evidence supporting the challenged entry and either give you a copy of credible evidence, or — if it cannot find any — remove the information and, at its own expense, notify anyone who may have used the flawed data of the error and its correction. If you receive the evidence and still disagree, section 38(4) gives you twenty working days from receiving it to apply to the Bank of Ghana, which then investigates it as a complaint under section 43.

Every bureau must run an Inquiry Service Unit under section 42 for exactly these disputes. Section 43 requires a complaint to be submitted in writing to the Bank of Ghana before you go to court, and lets anyone dissatisfied with the Bank's decision appeal to the High Court. Section 41 preserves a separate right to sue a data provider or bureau for harm caused by inaccurate or incomplete information, including an injunction to expunge it. One caution: section 39 allows a bureau to charge you the cost of verification if your claim turns out to be unfounded, so raise disputes you can actually evidence.

For context on scale, credit-referencing complaints across the system rose only 0.7% in 2024, from 1,596 to 1,617 — a small number against 29 million searches, which suggests most people never check.

If the problem is affordability rather than accuracy, the fixes are slower but ordinary: clear a small facility to free up the instalment, extend the term to reduce the monthly figure, bring a guarantor or security, or reduce the amount requested. And if you are being pushed toward a lender that skips all of this, read how to spot an unlicensed lender first — an entity that does not search your file is an entity that is not reporting to a bureau either.

Making yourself easy to approve

  • Pull your own bureau report before you apply, using your free annual inspection, and fix errors while there is no deadline.
  • Keep your name and date of birth identical across your Ghana Card, bank account and payroll.
  • Let salary and business income land in one account for at least six months before you apply.
  • Clear or consolidate small facilities; every one of them is reported monthly and eats your affordability.
  • Never let a cheque bounce for lack of funds — it is reportable without your consent.
  • Ask for the pre-agreement disclosure statement in writing and compare the annual percentage rate and total of payments across at least two lenders. Our personal loan comparison and business loan comparison pages are a starting point.

Frequently asked questions

Can a lender check my credit file without asking me? For most information, no. Section 32(1) of Act 726 requires written consent from the credit information subject before a report is released, and section 26(2) says the lender must request that consent in the account opening form, loan application form or loan agreement. But section 25 permits reporting — without consent — of loans ninety days past due where the amount is not disputed and you were given at least twenty-eight days' notice, of financial malpractice, and of dishonoured cheques issued for lack of funds or fraud.

If I refuse consent, must the lender refuse my application? Section 26(5) says no obligation to deny an application because you refused consent shall be placed on a financial institution. In practice, refusing makes the mandatory section 26(4) search impossible, so a regulated lender has little room to proceed. Section 26(7) separately forbids a lender from inducing you to give consent.

Do Ghanaian lenders use credit scores now? Yes, recently. The Bank of Ghana approved the bureaus to begin credit scoring after data quality reached a satisfactory level, and both MyCredit Score and Dun & Bradstreet have rolled out scoring products. Scoring is still new here, the methodologies are under Bank of Ghana monitoring, and no authority publishes a standard scale — so treat any specific "minimum score" you see quoted online as unverified.

How long does a default stay on my record? Section 30(2) of Act 726 sets a maximum retention period of six years from the occurrence of the basis for keeping the information, and ten years in the case of a criminal conviction.

Can a lender charge me a fee it never mentioned? No. Section 57(4) of Act 1052 provides that charges or fees not disclosed in the pre-agreement disclosure statement before the agreement is executed are not payable, and must be refunded with interest at the prevailing rate if already paid.

What if I miss payments after the loan is approved? Section 60 of Act 1052 requires a lender that intends to realise its security to give you written notice of the default and request payment within thirty days of the date you receive it. The notice must be served between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. Perishable collateral is the exception — there, payment can be demanded immediately. Use those thirty days to make a documented repayment proposal; under section 25 a formal demand with no satisfactory proposal from you is part of what makes the default reportable.


Last reviewed: 28 September 2026. Figures and legal provisions are drawn from the Credit Reporting Act, 2007 (Act 726), the Borrowers and Lenders Act, 2020 (Act 1052), and the Bank of Ghana's Credit Reporting Activity Report 2024. Confirm current fees and any bureau charges directly with the Bank of Ghana or a licensed credit bureau before you rely on them.

This article is general information, not financial advice. Your circumstances are specific to you; speak to your lender or a qualified adviser before making a borrowing decision.

Tools to act on this today

R
Rateweb
Written for Rateweb — money guides for Ghana you can trust. This article is general information, not personalised financial advice.

Related on Rateweb